Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I like it overall! The hem is kinda messy but  IDK what could have been done about that. A smaller hem I guess. I got a lot of compliments on the dress though, so I’d say it’s a good start. 😀

I made a shift dress back in September and am just now getting around to posting about it. I’m so proud of myself! After taking sewing classes for about 1.5 years, I was scared to sew something without the help of a teacher, especially with  fitting. A friend asked me to be an usher in her wedding and I was not having success finding a lavender dress in September so decided to sew one. Honestly, I didn’t feel like sewing a dress under such a time crunch but because I didn’t have a ton of money to spend on more expensive dresses online, I kinda had no choice! It looks cute on no? The picture in no way reflects the weeping and gnashing of teeth involved in the making of this dress. Heh.

I cut out my size in New Look 6968  The bust fit perfect but the neck and armholes were too tight and the skirt was too small. I kept adjusting things not really  knowing what I was doing.  I was majorly frustrated ya’ll. EIGHT (8!!) muslins later ,I finally had a decent fit. I was fit to be tied, no pun intended. 🙂  Matching up the darts and seams were a total booger especially because I altered the pattern. It was my first time working with satin too. Why did no one tell me I needed a special type of needle for sewing with satin? And really, I didn’t even think through the fact that this fabric is totally the un-pliable and a fray monster.  Aye yi yi!  I probably should  invest in a serger to help with fabric fraying.   I had to sew the invisible zipper 2 times to get it right. I  never got around to adding  the hook  but I otherwise the dress is finished. Yaay me!

What I would do differently:

I think next time I would  sew the zipper straight to the top and forget about hooks. Seems like such a nuisance. I also would have lined it for a better finish instead of using facings and to for a smoother finish/fit.,etc. I have never lined anything completely before and was scared to attempt it. I was also  out of time.  Anyway, it’s done and hopefully I have a trusty sloper now for a shift dress. I better, after all the work I put into it. 😉 Here are pics of the process.

The innards.  Fray city. Overlocker/Serger anyone?

front/side view

Back view . I can’t figure out how to stop all that puckering. Lining? I pressed this thing silly! I didn’t want to burn it. I also don’t think I sewed my zipper close enough to the seam because it’s not completely invisible.

I added grosgrain ribbon for a belt and a brooch for an accent et voila! A shift dress!

~M

