Let me first address the obvious, this post has been sitting in draft mode since December and I did not realize it. Better posted late than never! I was planning on making a Christmas outfit with the green and fuschia silk fabric I purchased from G Street Fabric but the stars did not align and I only ended up making the top. I meant to make the outfit a green silk cami and pink silk for joggers or slacks. I’m not sure what happened, but here we are with just the top. I made the Odgen cami for the first time last summer in a silk paisley but I didn’t like the fit or honestly, the print. This time, I graded up 2 sizes and the fit is much better. I lengthened the straps by more than an inch but after having worn it, I don’t think that was necessary.

Silk is tricky fabric to work with (IMO) and I starched this fabric before cutting it which made it easier to work with. I finished the seams with french seams throughout most of it. I also used fabric glue on some parts of the hem but that ended up being a headache and I didn’t continue with that. I styled this cami with a RTW sequin black skirt from Ann Taylor. Even though Christmas was a quiet, at-home celebration this year (stupid Covid), I would definitely wear this whole outfit out somewhere. I for sure see more Ogden cami’s and hacks in my future now that I’ve figured out the right size for me.

Have you sewn this pattern before? Any great hacks of it that I should try?

~Michelle