This pattern is the ever popular Simplicity 8982. I’ve seen a lot of versions but the one on  Ms. Anita’s blog convinced me that I needed to make it.  This shirt actually almost didn’t get finished! I purchased this knit fabric from Joann Fabric  and it’s so soft it feels like  pyjamas and that’s probably what it was intended for. It’s a bit bulky and not that breathable so I was worried once I put one sleeve in that it would be too hot to wear. After I put it down for a while I decided to just go ahead and  finish it because I’m working on less UFO’s/wadders this year.

IMG_8223

IMG_8028

It was pretty alright out of the envelope with no modifications but when making it again I would take in the shoulders just a bit and make the sleeve band a tad shorter as I’m petite and most arms in rtw and patterns tend to run too long on me.  I used a zig-zag stitch when sewing it up because this fabric has a lot of stretch. My serger gave up the ghost while I was making this so the neck band seam was bulky and the finishing wasn’t great for part that but it is what it is. I don’t think I’ll make the view with the mock turtleneck again but I think the statement sleeve makes this basic shirt more flattering and I desperately need more versatile tops in my wardrobe so  I definitely want to make another.

IMG_8615

IMG_8539

Question: How would you finish seams in a knit without a serger or coverstitch machine?

-Michelle