I’ve been eyeing the Charlie caftan for years but finally got around to purchasing it a few months ago and making it this May. I’ve always wanted to make mine like the one pictured here (View A) in white linen.  It took  me about 1.5 weeks of stopping/ starting and sewing a little at a time before completion. If you sew much faster than me, I think it could be  sewn up in a few hours if there were no issues with the insert.

IMG_2158

I cut out View A and was confused straightaway at the markings for the cutout which are SUPER important.  I kept doubting myself and I really think I cut out the wrong size tab/insert ( too large) compared to the pattern pictures but it was already cut so I had to proceed.  I interfaced the corners as suggested in the directions for reinforcement. I cut the 0 and graded out to 8 from the hip down. When sewing, I felt I could have used one more size up in the hip area but after washing and pressing it worked out since linen tends to stretch out a bit.  After cutting, I starched and stay-stitched the fabric so it didn’t get too misshapen.

IMG_2172

IMG_2201

Sewing the caftan was pretty straightforward but the insert really tripped me up. The instructions suggest practicing sewing that part before using your fashion fabric since it’s kind of  tricky and they were totally right.  I honestly would have done well to practice it  at least 2 separate times before starting on my dress but I just didn’t feel like going through all that drama. Next time, I’ll follow the  instructions better but it was still great to learn a new skill.

I followed the  direction booklet that came with pattern as well as the online tutorial with pictures and the tutorial helped tremendously.  My first pattern with Closet Case was the Kalle shirt  ( I haven’t blogged mine yet) and the directions and tutorial were superb so it seems they consistently put a lot into helping you make the best garment possible.

I picked out this insert/tab about 3 times before I decided to leave it as is.  The more I picked it out, the more it frayed. My serger conked out on me so I chose to finish with  french seams. The french seams made it a tad bulky  because of the weight and heft of the linen but I pressed and steamed the mess out of it and used the clapper and made it work. There was some excess fabric in the back but I have a swayback and the pattern is supposed to be loose so I didn’t get too picky about it. As for the pockets, I reinforced the pocket seam with interfacing for more stability and pinked the seams.  I kind of regretted not lining them with skin-toned fabric since the white on white shows but after taking photos of it-it’s fine.

IMG_2203

IMG_2163

IMG_2157

IMG_2245

Overall, I love the way it came out, imperfect insert and all. I can see that I will be wearing this during the summer and on vacation ( when will we ever get back to vacations?? Ugh)  for as long as it will last! I definitely recommend the pattern because of it’s unique style lines, pockets, great finishing techniques and stellar instructions. It’s such a cool, comfortable and classic wardrobe staple for summer.

~Michelle